Life Style

T20 World Cup: United States restrict Pakistan to 159-7 – Sport

Pakistan were held to a total of 159-7 in their T20 World Cup opener against the United States in Dallas on Thursday as the co-hosts eyed an upset win.

The United States chased down a target of 195 to beat fellow non-Test nation Canada in their first Group A encounter but were now up against a far superior bowling attack.

Nevertheless, the United States could be proud of their efforts in the field against Pakistan given they reduced the 2009 T20 World Cup winners to 26-3 after winning the toss.

Left-arm spinner Nosthush Kenjige, who opened the bowling, took 3-30 — including two wickets in two balls — from his maximum four overs and left-arm paceman Saurabh Netravalkar a miserly 2-18.

Pakistan were in dire straits at 26-3 inside five overs before a partnership of 72 between skipper Babar Azam (44) and Shadab Khan (40).

Shadab and Azam Khan fell in successive balls to Kenjige.

Pakistan, runners-up to England at the last T20 World Cup in Australia two years ago, were faltering again at 98-5 before tailender Shaheen Shah Afridi’s unbeaten 23 boosted the total.

Earlier, Mohammad Rizwan was superbly caught one-handed at slip by Steven Taylor off Netravalkar before Usman Khan holed out off Kenjige to leave Pakistan 14-2.


United States: Steven Taylor, Monank Patel (capt/wkt), Andries Gous, Aaron Jones, Nitish Kumar, Corey Anderson, Harmeet Singh, Jasdeep Singh, Nosthush Kenjige, Saurabh Netravalkar, Ali Khan

Pakistan: Babar Azam (capt), Mohammad Rizwan (wkt), Usman Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Azam Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Amir, Haris Rauf

Umpires: Allahuddien Paleker (RSA), Michael Gough (ENG)

TV umpire: Paul Reiffel (AUS)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button