Tom Latham returns to T20s to captain New Zealand towards Pakistan – Sport

Tom Latham will captain an inexperienced New Zealand group in subsequent month’s residence T20 sequence towards Sri Lanka and the five-match sequence in Pakistan that follows, returning to the shortest format for the primary time in almost two years.

With Kane Williamson and Tim Southee taking part in within the Indian Premier League and unavailable, the wicketkeeper-batsman will return to the management function he held in Bangladesh in 2021.

“We noticed towards India earlier this season the ability and vary of pictures that Tom possesses. His adaptability additionally means he can characteristic in a spread of batting positions,” coach Mike Stead mentioned.

“He led an inexperienced T20 squad to Bangladesh in 2021 and we had been actually impressed along with his management of that group throughout a Covid bubble tour.”

Former South Africa under-19 skipper and top-order batsman Chad Bowes and seamer Henry Shipley, who made his one-day worldwide debut in January, are in line to win their first T20 caps after being included within the squad for each sequence.

New Zealand play Sri Lanka in Auckland, Dunedin and Queenstown within the first week of April earlier than three T20s against Pakistan in Lahore and one other two in Rawalpindi from April 14-24.

Stead will skip the Pakistan T20s, leaving Shane Jurgensen to guide the group, however return to the helm for the next 5 one-day matches towards the hosts.

Squad: Tom Latham (captain), Chad Bowes, Mark Chapman, Matt Henry, Ben Lister, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Rachin Ravindra, Tim Seifert (not Pakistan sequence), Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Will Younger.

Pakistan sequence solely: Dane Cleaver, Cole McConchie, Blair Tickner.

Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :