Rahul Gandhi disqualified from Lok Sabha, barred from contesting polls for eight years

Congress chief Rahul Gandhi has been disqualified from the Lok Sabha, the Lok Sabha Secretariat introduced on Friday.

His disqualification got here a day after he was convicted by a courtroom in Surat in a felony defamation case over his remarks in regards to the ‘Modi surname’.

After the disqualification, Rahul cannot contest a Parliamentary election for the following eight years except a better courtroom stays his conviction and sentence.    

“Consequent upon his conviction by the Courtroom of Chief Judicial Justice of the Peace, Surat…Rahul Gandhi, Member of Lok Sabha representing the Wayanad Parliamentary Constituency of Kerala stands disqualified from the membership of Lok Sabha from the date of his conviction i.E. 23 March, 2023,” Utpal Kumar Singh, secretary normal normal of the Lok Sabha Secretariate introduced via a notifcation on Friday.

His disqualification from the Lok Sabha begins from the date of his conviction, 23 March 2023 when it comes to the provisions of Article 102(1)(e) of the Structure of India learn with Part 8 of the Illustration of the Folks Act, 1951, the notification additional learn.

On Thursday, a courtroom in Surat sentenced Rahul to 2 years in jail in a defamation case.

The case was filed after a grievance by BJP MLA Purnesh Modi for Rahul’s alleged comment, “How come all thieves have Modi because the widespread surname?”

Following, Rahul’s disqualification, the Congress got here out weapons blazing on the BJP, terming the disqualification because the loss of life of Indian democracy. 

The Congress mentioned it will not be intimidated by the disqualification and can struggle the battle each “legally and politically”.

“We won’t be intimidated or silenced. As a substitute of a JPC into the PM-linked Adani MahaMegaScam Rahul Gandhi stands disqualified. Indian Democracy Om Shanti,” Congress normal secretary Jairam Ramesh mentioned in a tweet.

Senior Congress chief Shashi Tharoor tweeted that the fast motion in opposition to Rahul has left him surprised. “That is politics with the gloves off and it bodes sick for our democracy,” Tharoor mentioned in a tweet.

In the meantime, Union Minister of State for Legislation and Justice SPS Baghel defended the choice in opposition to Rahul. He termed it a “lawful” choice and asserted that “everyone seems to be equal earlier than regulation”.

Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi mentioned the choice was a authorized one and alleged that the Congress was disrespecting the choice of the judiciary.

“It was a authorized choice and never a name taken by the political occasion. It was taken by a courtroom. The Congress ought to make clear who they’re protesting in opposition to,” he mentioned.

Senior BJP chief Bhupender Yadav mentioned Gandhi had obtained sufficient alternatives current his case, present proof and due process has been adopted by the courtroom for his disqualification.

“When the order has come now the Congress is protesting in opposition to the order. They’re abusing the authorized system. On this nation, the system runs based on the regulation and previous to this related motion has been taken in opposition to different public representatives.

“Not simply Gandhi, however the Congress occasion ought to apologise for insulting the OBC neighborhood. They need to work in the direction of the event of the nation as an alternative of defaming the nation’s democracy in London,” he mentioned.

BJP MP from Kaushambi, Vinod Kumar Sonkar mentioned Gandhi had insulted a whole neighborhood and he ought to be punished.

“This can be a choice of the courtroom and the best way he defamed a neighborhood he ought to be punished. This disqualification is an efficient message that nobody is above the regulation,” he mentioned.

Also Read: Rahul Gandhi disqualified as MP after conviction in ‘Modi Surname’ case by Surat Court: List of other MPs disqualified due to court’s conviction

Rahul Gandhi: Journey as a Parliamentarian 

2004: Elected, to 14th Lok Sabha

2009: Re-elected to fifteenth Lok Sabha (2nd time period)

Might, 2014: Re-elected to sixteenth Lok Sabha (third time period)

Might, 2019: Re-elected to seventeenth Lok Sabha (4th time period)


Source link

Related Articles

Back to top button
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :