PHC suspends schedule for upcoming by-election on 24 NA seats in KP – Pakistan

The Peshawar Excessive Court docket (PHC) on Friday suspended a notification for by-elections on 24 Nationwide Meeting seats from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, which was beforehand scheduled to be held on March 16 and 19, respectively.

Twenty-four former MNAs from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa had on Feb 23 filed a plea within the PHC in opposition to the acceptance of their resignations by the Nationwide Meeting speaker and their subsequent de-notification by the Election Fee of Pakistan (ECP).

These petitioners embody former NA speaker Asad Qaiser, 5 ex-federal ministers Pervez Khattak, Murad Saeed, Omar Ayub Khan, Ali Amin Khan and Sheharyar Afridi and ex-MNA Imran Khattak.

As many as 123 PTI MNAs had resigned en masse from the decrease home of Parliament following the ouster of PTI chief Imran Khan in April final 12 months in a vote of no confidence.

The previous lawmakers filed two similar petitions with the courtroom requesting it to put aside 4 notifications issued by the NA speaker and the ECP on the matter.

That they had additionally sought interim reduction searching for suspension of these notifications and orders for the ECP to not maintain by-polls of their constituencies till the disposal of their petitions. The petitioners had additionally requested the courtroom to declare the speaker’s act of accepting their resignations a violation of the legislation consistent with Supreme Court docket judgements.

The ECP has already introduced the schedule for the by-polls to fill vacant seats and polling within the 24 constituencies might be held on March 16 and 19, respectively.

On March 16, the polling might be held on six seats, that are: NA-4 Swat, NA-17 Haripur, NA-18 Swabi, NA-25 Nowshera, NA-26 Nowshera, NA-32 Kohat, NA-38 DI Khan and NA-43 Khyber.

On March 19, the constituencies the place polling might be held embody NA-2 Swat, NA-3 Swat, NA-5 Higher Dir, NA-6 Decrease Dir, NA-7 Decrease Dir, NA-8 Malakand, NA- 9 Buner, NA-16 Abbottabad, NA-19 Swabi, NA-20 Mardan, NA-29 Peshawar, NA-30 Peshawar, NA-34 Karak, NA-40 Bajaur, NA-42 Mohmand and NA-44 Khyber.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button