ECP de-notifies Imran Khan from 6 Nationwide Meeting seats – Pakistan

The Election Fee of Pakistan (ECP) on Friday de-notified former prime minister Imran from six Nationwide Meeting seats that the PTI chairman received final yr in the course of the by-elections.

Based on a notification issued by the electoral watchdog, which it posted on its official Twitter account, Imran has been de-notified from the NA-22 Mardan-III, NA-24 Charsadda-II, NA-31 Peshawar-V, NA-108 Faisalabad-VIII, NA-118 Nankana Sahib-II, NA-Korangi Karachi-I seats.

Final month, the ECP had decided to situation a notification confirming the PTI chief’s victory in by-elections on seven Nationwide Meeting seats that had been earlier withheld for his alleged failure to submit the social gathering’s funding particulars to the electoral physique.

A five-member ECP physique headed by Chief Election Commissioner Sikander Sultan Raja introduced the choice that was reserved on Dec 20 final yr.

The electoral watchdog had taken discover of Imran’s failure to submit the small print of the bills incurred in the course of the by-polls and subsequently withheld the notification of his victory over non-compliance with the fee’s orders.

In a separate notification at this time, the ECP additionally suspended the de-notification of 32 PTI MNAs from Punjab.

It added that the fee suspended its notifications relationship again to January 17, 20, 27, and February 3 “to the extent of the next constituencies and reserved seats falling within the province of Punjab until additional orders of the Lahore Excessive Court docket”.

The electoral watchdog stated the de-notification of 27 MNAs from Punjab stood suspended together with the de-notification of 5 feminine legislators from Punjab.

These included Aliya Hamza Malik, Kanwal Shauzab, Andleeb Abbas, Asma Hadeed, and Barrister Maleeka Ali Bokhari.

The ECP assertion added that the fee would additionally delay holding elections for the seats till additional orders from the LHC.

Earlier, the LHC had suspended the ECP’s de-notification of all PTI MNAs from Punjab.

The PTI had resigned en masse from the decrease home of parliament following the ouster of PTI chief Imran Khan in April final yr.

Subsequently, NA speaker Ashraf accepted solely 11 of the resignations, stating that the remaining lawmakers can be summoned individually for verification.

After stalling the method for eight months, Ashraf had on Jan 17, accepted the resignations of 34 extra PTI MNAs and Awami Muslim League chief Sheikh Rashid whereas three days in a while Jan 20, the speaker accepted 35 extra resignations.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button