India’s Ravichandran Ashwin came under fire after he attempted to take a catch by “cheating” during the Men in Blue’s opening match against Pakistan at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) on Sunday.
In the soft signal, the umpire declared Shan Masood out as Ashwin dived forward at fine leg to complete the catch. However, the top-order batter stood his ground and awaited the third umpire to review the decision.
The ball had actually bounced before Ashwin took the catch — a move that drew criticism from the fans.
Fortunately for Masood, the third umpire gave not out later.
Pakistan were already down two wickets — Babar Azam (0) and Mohammad Rizwan (4) and Masood’s wicket at such a stage would’ve given India a major boost.